Book review / Books

Review: A Torch Against the Night

A Torch-Cover.jpg

Title: A Torch Against the Night

Author: Sabaa Tahir

Genre: Young Adult/Fantasy

No spoilers.

A little over a month ago I read An Ember in the Ashes-the bestselling novel by Sabaa Tahir. After weeks of waiting I finally obtained a copy of the newly released sequel, A Torch Against the Night and naturally, dove straight into it.

As fast paced as it’s predecessor, A Torch Against the Night was a nearly UN-put-downable book for me. It starts where An Ember in the Ashes finishes with Laia and Elias running for their lives. This book was full of unexpected turns making every chapter entirely unpredictable. Tahir  is a master of creating suspense and mystery.

This book will unmake you and then re-make you all over again. I greatly enjoyed the added perspective from Helene-who was one of my favorite characters in An Ember. There was also a whole new added level of the fantasy and the supernatural in this book. Although this was present in the first book-I felt like this element has more of an impact in this book, which created some interesting challenges for the characters in this book.

Then there are the characters. I think I fell in love with them all over again, with all of them facing significant hurdles in this book and each changing because of these hurdles.

Tahir has created a world and a story which is totally immersing.

This book really does deserve the 5/5 stars and I’m going to give it.

 

 

 

Leave a comment