Books

September Wrap Up

IMG_3817.JPG

Hi all-here is a quick summary of the books I read this month and my thoughts on them (links to full reviews included) – just in case you missed anything.

The Secret Chord-Geraldine Brooks

Historical fiction/ religion. About King David. Majorly disappointing read. Narrator is basically a walking spoiler for the entire book. The start is promising-but flops a few chapters after. Scenes are a little fragmented time-line wise.

Six of Crows-Leigh Bardugo

This book is what YA  fantasy SHOULD BE. Characters are diverse and interesting-easy to fall in love with. World building is great. Backstories are all interesting. Character interactions are awesome. Writing style is great-it’s a nice easy read. If you haven’t read this yet. Read it.

Throne of Glass-Sarah J. Maas

I could throw this into the ‘over-hyped’ books pile. It’s contradictory. The writing did not hold me and there are weird bits which didn’t seem to fit. It’s just lacking a few things. The concept is promising though. Will continue series-and give honest reviews for you all.

The Last of the Mohicans-DNF

I’m including this here because I started it at the start of the month and I’m still going. It’s a painful classic to read so far-because of the fact each character has about four names they are referred to by. Review will be posted-but it’ll probably take me another month to finish this one.

What did you read this month? Let me know in the comments! 

 

2 thoughts on “September Wrap Up

    • I usually try to finish any series I start. I find most books have good parts and bad parts so I definitely plan on sticking it out! I’m hoping I’ll get my copy of Crooked Kingdom this week!

Leave a Reply

