Book review / Books

Review: A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J.Maas

23766634

Genre: Young Adult/Fantasy

No major spoilers (unless you haven’t read ACOMAF – there are definitely ACOMAF spoilers, just no major ACOWAR one’s). 

Okay. So it’s going to be hard to write a non-spoilery review of this novel because I really want to vent out all my feelings of it. But I’m going to do it for those of you who haven’t read the book and are unsure of whether they should or not.

Before I go into too much detail, if you have read the first two books in this series then I definitely recommend picking up the last one. I mean, isn’t that kin of a no-brainer? So many things happen in this massive tome. SO MANY THINGS.

(You really don’t want to miss out on all the things.)

This book picks up where A Court of Mist and Fury left off – with Feyre’s return to the Spring Court where she unleashes all hell. There is one word I can think of that describes Feyre in part one of this book and that is: savage. It was probably my favourite of the three parts in the books. The plotting was pretty cool.

The remainder of the book of features the rest of Feyre and her crew as they make plans to try and save their beloved Prythian from the wrath of Hybern. Again, I won’t go into too much detail here, but there are some scenes I really enjoyed with both old and new characters.

I loved reading about all my favourite characters from A Court of Mist and Fury again. They are all so vibrant and they still give me all the feels. I feel Maas has also tried to add more diversity to the characters in this book which I thought was nice.

However, as Sarah from commasandampersands (don’t read this review if you haven’t read ACOWAR, but definitely visit her blog!) says in her review  the ending certainly feels like it was tied up in a neat little bow. Characters from the previous books all make appearances and there are some real touching moments. And, whilst I did cry a lot during the last 100 pages (meaning there were plenty of surprises), I cannot help but agree with Sarah’s statement. If you were looking for a nice, neat conclusion to this trilogy then Maas has certainly delivered.

It also feels like she’s set up a little for the three novella’s which will also come out of this series. I cannot wait to see what they are about. (GIVE US MORE LUCIEN PLEASE).

I’m rating this book 4/5 stars (only because it didn’t break my heart as much as I thought it would). And, it wasn’t quite as good as A Court of Mist and Fury. 

(PS: I have no idea WHY I used so many brackets in this review – but I do hope you liked reading it!)

TTFN x

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Review: A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J.Maas

  1. I AGREE Acomaf was so much better I think I may just live in that world, I’m still trash though and will buy the new books mainly for Azriel he is my fave ❤ Great Review 😀

  2. I agree that the end was a little too perfect, felt a little unrealistic but overall It was a great series and I really enjoyed it. Nice work on the no spoiler review! I enjoyed your thoughts 🙂

  3. Pingback: The year so far…(or one sentence reviews) | Brylie and Books

Leave a Reply

