Book review / Books

Review: The Bone Season

the bone season

Title: The Bone Season

Author: Samantha Shannon

Genre: Young Adult/Fantasy/Dystopian

No major spoilers.

 

 

 

I picked up The Bone Season upon after several friends recommend it to me. Fair enough too, this is certainly the sort of book I’d pick up and enjoy. And, to an extent, I did enjoy it. I liked most of the characters, especially the Seven Seals (I’m kind of disappointed there weren’t more chapters with them in this book).

But it wasn’t an easy book to read. The world Shannon has created is very complex. Set in a dystopian London, it follows Paige Mahoney who is a kind of clairvoyant known as a dream walker. It’s a pretty cool concept which falls a little flat on its face. You see, there are a lot of different clairvoyants – all who do different things and have different abilities. I found myself often getting really confused by this too.

Then there is the fact Paige has a very distinct past life which also takes a certain amount of precedence in the novel. So while you’re learning with her about the truth of her world – at the same time you’re learning about how she existed before hand.

It is a lot of information to take in at the same time.

Towards the end all the elements, all the information starts to come together. But it feels more like a set up for the latter novels.

Some other reviewers have also compared this book to Shadow and Bone. Which is a fair comparison. So, if you’re looking for something similar to that  – I’d recommend giving this book a read. Whilst complex, there are some intense scenes which had me hanging off the edge of my seat and there are some great character developments.  It’ll be interesting to see how the world develops in the second book (stay tuned for a review of it).

I’m rating this book 3/5 stars.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

