Books

Review: Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson

 

steelheart.jpg

 

Title: Steelheart

Author: Brandon Sanderson

Genre: Fantasy/Young Adult.

No major spoilers. 

 

 

Let me put it simply for you: Steelheart is awesome book. It contained some pretty horrid evil superheros, some pretty intense battle scenes and a main character who is very bad at creating metaphors.

I finished it in virtually no time at all.

It starts off with this killer opening sentence:

I’ve seen Steelheart bleed. 

The sentence pretty much fuels the main characters motivations throughout the book. You see, David is obsessed with seeing Steelheart bleed again – and for pretty obvious reasons (which I would add but that would be spoilery).

And for that reason, the book feels predictable in most parts. However, in classic Sanderson fashion there are a number of plot twists I simply did not see coming. And the book is made all that much better for it.

All the characters are highly likeable too. And whilst I’m not too big on dystopian novels – I liked the city this book was set in, mostly because it worked well within the story line.

The writing was also simple. And well paced. (I simply hate books which contain too much information).

I mean, really I don’t have many quarrels with this book. (Hence the statement about it being awesome).

Except. Oh yeah. Lack of female characters. I mean, there is one – but bad-ass and super attractive (yawn). And there is another – but she doesn’t really do much.

If you can get over that part – this book is well worth taking the time to read. Especially if you’re a total nerd like me, who loves superheros and intense battle scenes.

I’m rating this one 4/5.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Review: Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson

  1. Pingback: The year so far…(or one sentence reviews) | Brylie and Books

Leave a Reply

