Book review / Books

Review: This Savage Song by V.E Schwab

this savage song.jpg

Title: This Savage Song

Author: V.E. Schwab

Genre: Young Adult/Urban Fantasy/Dystopian

No spoilers. 

 

 

This book takes me back. Way back to my dreams when I was an emotional (EMO) teenager who loved My Chemical Romance and dressed in black every day. I mean it is just that sort of book.

August and Kate are heirs from opposing sides of a super city known as Verity where monsters run rampant. The city is a violent and totally dystopian type place where being the constant threat of being killed by monsters is kind of normal.

Despite the fact they are on opposing sides of this war, they are put in a situation where they must work together in order to save themselves – all the while battling their own personal ‘demons’.

This book is beautifully written and descriptive, without being over-the-top. Schwab has created some well thought out characters. Kate has some real daddy issues and August has some real identity issues (both things a lot of teenagers have to deal with), making both characters easy to relate to.

The monsters are also pretty creepy. There’s those that hide in sewers. Others that are extremely violent and a third type which steal souls through music in order to survive (hence the book title).

However, this book was a little lacking in…something.

I think the right word for it is passion. 

There seems very little fire between in the male and female lead. I mean they both seem to come across as depressed teenagers who are having some serious identity issues and I like to see a little bit of hope in my characters. And it felt like these characters had very little to live for. It also feels like it’s been set up so there is romance between the characters, but I didn’t feel any spark between them – and there certainly weren’t any kissing scenes.

That said, I found this book remarkably easy to read. Sure, it’s hard to get into at first (which tends to happen when you dive straight into a book like that without any preamble). It is well written and enjoyable enough – but not enough for me to fall in love with it.

Those seeking out a book to relive their vampire loving, black shirt wearing years will probably highly enjoy this book.

I’m rating it 3/5 stars.

Also: here is a little list of songs I think would go well when reading this novel. (click for YouTube link).

  1. I Caught Fire – The Used 
  2. The Kill – 30 Seconds to Mars
  3. Broken – Seether
  4. Daddy’s Fallen Angel – In This Moment
  5. Broken Pieces – Apocalyptica
  6. Not Good Enough for the Truth Cliche – Escape the Fate
  7. Welcome to the Black Parade – My Chemical Romance
  8. Dead Poetic -August Winterman 

 

Have you read this book? Thoughts?

 

One thought on “Review: This Savage Song by V.E Schwab

  1. I read this ages ago and loved it. I can see now what you mean about the lack of passion – I think it’s just to do with the fact the two leads simply have no hope for themselves. I also got the emo kind of vibe and it took me back to my MCR days. That playlist you came up with is perfect!

Leave a Reply

