Book review / Books

Review: Frogkisser! by Garth Nix

29736231

Title: Frogkisser!

Author: Garth Nix

Genre: Young Adult/Childrens/Fantasy

No spoilers.

Frogkisser! by Garth Nix is a wonderful and  whacky retelling of the classic ‘frog prince’ fairy tale.

It follows Anya, princess of Trallonia as she embarks on a dangerous quest for lip balm ingredients in order t turn her sisters beloved, Denholm back into his princely human form.

Being a modern-day retelling the story is less about true love and more about friendship and saving a kingdom from the oppression of Anya’s stepstepfather.

Indeed, Anya is a true 21st century princess. She’s not concerned with love, but will do anything to help her friends and her sister – even when it means putting her own life in danger.

I thought the spin Nix put on this classic fairy tale was quite enjoyable and I found the whimsical world created for this story a source of great amusement.

After all, what is a fairy tale retelling without evil sorcerers, thieves, druids, talking dogs and a wizard called ‘Snow White?’

Fans of The Princess Bride and Ella Enchanted are sure to love this queer and quirky tale.

I’m rating this book 3/5 stars.

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s