Book review / Books

10 reasons why all TMI fans need to read Tales from The Shadowhunter Academy

I thought instead of doing a review for this book it’d be more fun to write a list of all the reasons shadowhunter fans need to read it.

1. Simon. So much Simon.

Simon is actually my new favourite Shadowhunter character. I mean, he is a massive nerd but also incredibly adorable. It was so awesome to read some stories which primarily feature him as a character. He also also super easy to relate to.

“Life at the Shadowunter Academy was lacking in a lot of things Simon once belived he couldn’t live without: computers, music, comic books, indoor plumbing. Over the past couple of months, he’d gotten mostly used to doing without, but there was one glaring absence he still couldn’t wrap his head around. Shadowhunter Academy had no nerds.”

2. George Lovelace

George quite quickly becomes everything in this book. And he is Scottish. *Swoons*.

3. Malec

The star couple make a pretty adorable appearance in this novel. And everyone knows who knows The Mortal Instruments well knows that one can never get enough Malec.

4. It includes characters from all of Cassandra Clare’s Shadowhunter novels.

This means there are appearances from Tessa, Jem, Emma, Julian (and the rest of the Blackthorn clan). There is even a small Valentine cameo.

5. Sizzy

sizzy

“Izzy -I don’t know why you’d wait for me, but if you do, I promise to make myself worth that wait. Or I’ll try. I can promise I am going to try.”

I think I fell in love with this pairing all over again in this book. They are just so cute together.

 

 

6. All the Pop Culture references. 

Among my favourites where the allusions to Star Wars and The Terminator. I say a little ‘squee’ each time I see something I am familiar with referenced.

7. It features LGBTQIA+ characters

These are still so underrepresented in YA stories. It’s so nice to see when authors have taken care to include these characters in their books.

8.  Short stories.

If you feel like you need a break from that new epic YA fantasy series you just picked up – look no further. These stories offer bite-sized chunks of entertainment without any need to feel like you should commit to reading it all in one go.

9. It touches on some very real topics

Family, memory, gay marriage, death, babies and friendship to name a few.

10. All the feels.

There were moments in this book where I cried, where I giggled and moments where my heart sang with glee.

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “10 reasons why all TMI fans need to read Tales from The Shadowhunter Academy

  1. I love this so much 😍 my wallet is about to kill me but idk after reading your 10 reasons why 😅 😍😍

Leave a Reply

