Books

Top Reads of 2016

2016 was an epic year of reading for me. Having just completed university I found myself with A LOT more time on my hands and that meant I was able to read, read, read and read some more. 

Last year I read 46 books (my goal had been to read 26) and here are some of my favourites from the bunch.

(Please note: Any reviews I wrote for these books are linked!)

Six of Crows/Crooked Kingdom

six-of-crowscrooked-kingdom

Set in Leigh Bardugo’s grishaverse, Six of Crows follows six (awesome, lovable, badass) characters as they carry out an impossible heist. The second book, Crooked Kingdom deals largely with the repercussions of that heist and the events which happen as a result of it. Need I say more?

Illuminae/Gemina

illuminae.png

These books pretty much changed the whole reading experience for fans of the Young Adult genre (I know they did for me). The story is told through a compilation of security footage breakdowns, documents, interviews and records from chat rooms. The characters in these books must deal with AI, disease and larger powers trying to destroy them. And there are some kick ass female characters. If you haven’t read these yet, you’re simply missing out.

A Court of Mist and Fury

acomaf.jpg

I actually hated the first book in this series. It made me want to bang my head against a brick wall it was so awful. Then came this baby – and it changed my mind entirely. TWO WORDS: character development. It’s simply epic in this book – and we’re introduced to some new, lovable characters. It’s the one book I pretty much couldn’t put down.

The Left Hand of Darkness

lefthand.jpg

I actually had to read this one for university earlier in 2016. It is however, one of my favourite books I’ve had to read in my studies. Basically it’s a sci-fi which deals with modern day concerns and modern day issues. It basically made me change the way I see sci-fi as a genre. It also inspired me in writing the first draft of my own sci-fi novel.

So there you have it – some of my personal top reads for last year! What were some of yours?

2 thoughts on “Top Reads of 2016

Leave a Reply

