Book review / Books

Review: Queen of Shadows

queenofshadows.jpg

Title: Queen of Shadows

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Genre: Young Adult/Fantasy

Some spoilers if you haven’t read the previous books in this series.

 

 

 

If I could describe this book in one word I would have to use the word EPIC.

epic-heroic; majestic; impressively great.

This book is where the real magic happens in this series. In this book we are done away with the trials and tribulations of Celaena Sardothien and we are formally introduced to Aelin Ashryver Galathynius – or fire breathing bitch queen (if you prefer).

This means that the book has an entirely different look and feel compared to its predecessors. It is also where a lot of plotlines are wrapped up (including some which appear in The Assassins Blade). It almost feels like the end to the series (though it is evidently a turning point as there are a number more still to come!).

One of the major recurring themes throughout this book is vengeance – and many of the plot lines revolve around it – which is one of the reasons I called this book ‘epic’ at the start of this review. I can safely say without giving away too much that there are many first-pump moments throughout this book.

In my review for Heir of Fire I cited the fact that the points of view bothered me – not so in this book. In this book the points of view start to make some sense. They are also less bulky – which means more time with the stars of the book – without it being at the expense of time with other characters.

Whilst this book is far from perfect (I could make a long list of things that bothered me here – but that would ruin the overall impression I got from this book).

This is my favourite book in this series so far so I am rating it a massive 4/5 stars!

Leave a Reply

