Book review / Books

Review: Heir of Fire

Heir of fire.jpg

Title: Heir of Fire

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Genre: Young Adult/Fantasy

No spoilers.

 

 

 

I hate to say it but I’m going to say it anyway – this book was pretty boring.

It wasn’t so much because there was a lack of character development. Or because there was a lack of action in the book. It is because of how the book is set out.

This series isn’t stranger to using different viewpoints. But in this book the different viewpoints are written into the story on a whole new level. So much so that I felt Celaena‘s story-was almost a backstory as it wasn’t the main focus of this book.

The main problem however wasn’t exactly the fact there were extra viewpoints-but more so the fact that I felt they had little impact on the overall story which was told in this novel. For the life of me I can’t understand what the point of view of a random witch has to do with anything-and I think if it doesn’t impact this particular novel-then it shouldn’t have been included at all.

I did, however thoroughly enjoy how Celaena’s character develops in this book. She is faced with challenges, mentally, physically and socially-challenges which in the end make her more likeable as a character.

Then there is also the introduction of Rowan. This is a non-spoilery review so I’m not going to say anything more-except that I really enjoyed his addition to the storyline.

I feel like this book ends well and I certainly can’t wait to read what happens next.

I’m therefore rating this book 3/5.

For now-if you have read this book what were your thoughts on the multiple viewpoints? (which added a lot of bulk to the book too might I add!)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

