Book review / Books

Review: Crooked Kingdom

crooked kingdom.jpg

 

Title: Crooked Kingdom

Author: Leigh Bardugo

Genre: Young Adult/Fantasy

No spoilers.

 

 

I don’t know if I have words accurate enough to describe this book. But, for you, my lovely readers I’m going to try and gather myself together and make some words up.

If you read my earlier review of Six of Crows then you probably know that I am in love with this series. Being my first introduction to the Grishaverse, I also had no expectations upon reading Six of Crows and was completely and utterly gobsmacked with the depth of the world and the characters that Leigh Bardugo has created.

So, I guess the key question is, is Crooked Kingdom better than Six of Crows?

The answer to which is an emphatic yes! Yes it is!

I didn’t think I could fall in love with Kaz, Inej, Wylan, Jesper, Nina and Matthias any more, but I did and, at different times, each character in this book also broke my heart.

The development of these characters in this book, was simply amazing. In this book Bardugo fleshes out the backgrounds and relationships set up in the previous book which makes each character all that more likeable.

Then there is the plot development and the suspense. As in Six of Crows Kaz is back up to his old schemes and we have no idea what they are. And, I promise you, the end result will not disappoint. There is no arguing that a lot of thought has gone into the creation of these books and the results show.

This book is draw-dropping and heart rendering. Through her cast of diverse characters Bardugo has created a story worth raving about.

I for one, couldn’t find a single thing wrong with this epic tale and, you know what that means.

I rated this book 5/5 stars!!

Also: if you haven’t read these books, I have an inspiring message for you all.

do it.jpg

 

One thought on “Review: Crooked Kingdom

  1. I’m currently in the middle of Crooked Kingdom. I loved Six of Crows! I only read one other book of Leigh Bardugo’s and that was Shadow and Bone, the first book that starts the whole Grisha world. In fact, in Crooked Kingdom it talks about Alina Starkov who is a ‘diety’ (I guess) that the people of Ravka symbolize. So there is just a little bit of back story in Crooked Kingdom that makes sense if you at least read Shadow and Bone. I don’t want Crooked Kingdom to end. I hope everything ends alright. I’m not sure I’ll be able to handle the bad news…. haha.

    Thanks for the spoiler free review!

    http://www.forensicmomblog.wordpress.com

Leave a comment