Books

Review: Throne of Glass

throne_of_glass_uk Title: Throne of Glass

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Genre: Young Adult/Fantasy

No major spoilers.

With all the hype about Empire of Storms I thought it was nigh on time that I dive into the series-that is Throne of Glass to see what all the fuss is about.

One book in and I can’t say I’m overly impressed. Whilst it was an easy and enjoyable read it was also significantly lacking in a few things.

Thing one: sense. There were quite a few things in this book that were contradictory. The book is about the a girl who is supposedly the Erilea’s best assassin. Only there are things which would suggest that she isn’t all that. I mean-of course she doesn’t have to be perfect-but if she is the best-I would think she’d also be the best at assassin related tasks.

Thing two: Writing. Style. I found the way this book was written to be a little dull. I often was able to skip over entire paragraphs because the style just didn’t hold me at all.

Thing three: Diversity. Boom. I’ve said it already. The characters in this book are all outwardly straight and attractive. This I found to be on the whole, boring. I mean-it’s not just that there aren’t really coloured characters-or gay characters. There aren’t really any characters who have big noses, frizzy hair, bad eyesight, bad teeth-I mean-there weren’t things there that seemed to make the characters-well-characters. I’m not sure if this changes in the later books-but the lack of descriptors of the like I just mentioned kind of bugged me.

However…

Celaena is the kind of character teenage girls can relate too. She likes candy, experiences cramps, likes boys and loves puppiesΒ  and reading (all kinda odd considering her career choice, but-okay). I definitely think literature could certainly do with more characters like this to relate to.

I’ve heard this series gets better-so I’m going to stick it out-for now.

Have you read this book?

Let me know your thoughts in the comments below!

Rating: 2/5.

 

Leave a Reply

