Books

Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child.

626F6F78747265616D=7474747474727576707<7473

Title: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Author: J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, Jack Thorne.

Rating: 4/5.

Doesn’t contain major spoilers.

Going into this book I knew full well it was a play and read it as a play and entirely separate from the original seven Harry Potter novels. Sure it’s the eighth story  but it sure as hell is not the eighth book, so if you go into this thinking that, you’re bound to end up disappointed.

Being an absolute Harry Potter nerd, I started crying after reading the first couple of scenes. As Harry Potter was such a large part of my childhood it felt good to revisit the magical world I’d fallen in love with all those years ago, even if it was in a different way.

large.jpg

Picture from the stage production of HP and the Cursed Child.

I believe this play was written for the fans, much like the way the new Star Wars film was definitely written for the fans. Despite this, it didn’t feel like fan-fiction. There were some pretty poignant themes throughout this story, parenthood, friendship, death and love and I thought these parts were executed beautifully.

I simply adored the relationship between Albus and Scorpius and I thought it really reflected the importance of friendship-which as you all know was a big theme in the Harry Potter novels. In a similar vein the play also highlighted individuality-in  particular Albus’s individuality and in the end celebrated it.

There were also some appearances by some hated and some very loved Harry Potter characters-though some characters didn’t appear at all. I thought this was understandable as the story was confined to the format of a play.

I only had one major problem with this play and that was with the Villain. I didn’t think their character sat right within the Harry Potter universe for several reasons I will not disclose here (or else fill my review with major spoilers). Whilst I understand the character was somewhat necessary, I didn’t find the character to be very realistic.

Overall, if you’re a massive Harry Potter nerd like me, there is absolutely no reason you shouldn’t enjoy reading this. There are some funny moments, some serious moments and some heartbreaking ones. I for one, would love to see this translated how it was supposed to be-on stage. Here’s to hoping one day the show will travel top my end of the world!

 

Click here for the Goodreads synopsis.

 

 

One thought on “Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child.

  1. Pingback: August Wrap Up – Brylie and Books

Leave a Reply

