Books

Review: A Court of Mist and Fury

17927395

Title:  A Court of Mist and Fury

Author:  Sarah J. Maas

Genre: Young Adult/Fantasy

No spoilers.

Like the first book in this series, A Court of Thorns and Roses, A Court of Mist and Fury is a retelling of a traditional tale. The tale of Hades and Persephone. Not being very well versed in Greek Mythology I had to look up this tale simply to see how the retelling compares to the retelling of Beauty and the Beast through the story of ACOTAR.

Those of you who read my review know that I was pretty disenchanted with ACOTAR after all the hype I’ve heard about it. This book, however was a large improvement on it’s predecessor. The character development was impressive. The transformation which is most complete in this book is that of Feyre. As the book develops she goes from someone who is broken to a character who had purpose and has determination. She goes from letting everything stand in her way, to letting nothing stand in her way, from puppet to puppeteer.

Being largely a love story, the romance in this book also gets turned on it’s head and turned up to boiling point. I felt like there was a whole lot more action dispersed throughout this book too. Maas also introduces some pretty lovable characters-something that I felt was missing in the last book.

There are also twists and turns to keep you on the edge of the seat. If I could choose one word to describe this book it would be immersing. I hardly took my eyes away from the pages whilst I read it.

Despite this, the book was far from perfect. Whilst the plot line and the character development are significantly improved in this book I have to say at times I found Maas’s writing a little cringe worthy. Whilst the sex scenes in the book were hot I feel she goes a little bit overboard to exaggerate the point-which is certainly something this book doesn’t need added to it.

For those of you who like me, struggled through ACOTAR and are still thinking about ACOMAF I strongly encourage you to read this book.

Rating: 4/5.

 

 

 

 

Save

Leave a Reply

