Book review / Books / Reading

Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses

 

a court of thorns and roses.jpg

Title:  A Court of Thorns and Roses

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Genre: Young Adult/Fantasy

Some spoilers.

In the month or so since I’ve started this blog in conjunction with starting a ‘Bookstagram’ of sorts I’ve seen people rave about Sarah J. Maas, in particular in relation to the sequel of A Court of Thorns and Roses-A Court of Mist and Fury. My expectations when I started this novel were therefore placed pretty highly.

My first impression was that the book was very descriptive, and perhaps it should be considering it is set in a fantasy world. However, at times some of the descriptions in the book bugged me. In particular the way Maas used a plethora of colours to describe the way the sky looked. I can partly understand this-as the main character is a painter of sorts, however it didn’t stop me wanting to bang my head against the wall when I read the following line:

Alis strode over to the remnants of the curtains and threw them open, revealing a sky that was still a deep perriwinkle, splashed with hues of pumpkin and magenta from the rising dawn.

Okay. So sometimes Maas is a little too descriptive.

There is also a particular sex scene in this book which I could nit pick at for similar reasons. However, that would make this a very poor review and give you little sense of what this book is really about. So instead I’ve compiled a list.

  • A human girl
  • Good fairies and bad fairies
  • Magic, lots of magic.
  • Love

Now, combined these things should make for a pretty good story. However, I was a little disappointed by this book. Firstly, because the story line is a little weird for a start. I had no idea what was going on-although it made sense in the end..it was a little too far down the line for me-which made the bulk of the book boring. Also, I didn’t really enjoy the love arc in this story, it didn’t really make sense. I also thought the main character was a little annoying. You know when a character is about to do something really dumb, that they’ve been warned against but they go and do it anyway?

index

This happens more than once in this book, which once again had me wanting to scream at the character.

Anyway, I bet you’re wondering was there anything positive about this book?

As much as I’d like to say no, because of the reasons I cite above, I’m going to say yes. Yes there were some great plot twists, yes there were a few cool characters. But all this happens, once again at THE END of the book.

I think I will read the sequel to this book out of interest for it. But overall I found this book a disappointing.

Rating 2/5.

Feel free to comment your thoughts on this book below!

 

 

 

Save

Leave a Reply

