Book review / Books / Reading

Review: The Constant Princess

the-contant-princess2

Title: The Constant Princess

Author: Philippa Gregory

Genre: Historical Fiction

Some spoilers.

Recently I’ve been a little obsessed with the television show The Tudors-which has made me extremely interested in Tudor history. I’ve always adored reading historical fiction so I was happy when I found Philippa Gregory’s Tudor Court Series. From the outset I really wanted to enjoy The Constant Princess. However I was bitterly disappointed.

Firstly: because of how it was written. Third person-first person-third person etc.It was also used at times to create suspense with in the book-but it didn’t work. In fact I found it quite boring and oftentimes confusing. There may be some of you out there who enjoy this writing style-and that’s fine-but because of this simply finishing the book was a struggle for me.

However, I thought the book had good foundations-the story itself is interesting-but I think more could have been put into it to make it-more intense-and more believable.

The first half of the book was about Katherine’s marriage to Arthur and emphasis is placed on this throughout the book. However-for me their love story wasn’t convincing. This is because-from the start they hate each other and…it makes me think of the Batman v Superman movie (probably a poor comparison) bur there is this moment where Katherine is crying and Arthur wipes away her tears and almost all of a sudden she falls in love with him. There is a supplementary scene-but the whole thing just felt poorly executed for me.

Rating: 2/5.

Save

5 thoughts on “Review: The Constant Princess

  1. Pingback: Book Review: The Constant Princess (someΒ spoilers). β€” Skeptical Coffee – Madam La Zuray

  2. I just read this book a few weeks ago as well and I was so disappointed. It makes me wonder if I should keep reading the series. I shifted my interest to Mary Queen of Scotts and I am finding her life and that of the Tudor line very interesting.

    • I won’t be finishing the series I think. πŸ˜‚ I don’t know much about Mary Queen of Scots-apart from what I’ve seen so far on Reign and I stopped watching that months ago!

      • Yes, I agree REIGN was a complete disaster. I could not get past the first episode…Let me know what your next read will be and I will join you! πŸ™‚

  3. There are too many other good TV shows out there to watch for sure! My plans for books to be read are quite small at the moment. I’m going to give A Court of Thorns and Roses a go soon though (I’ve heard great things)-other than that I’m actually moving away from historical fiction and am trying to find a good sci-fi book!

Leave a Reply

