Book review / Books

Review: The Book Thief

the book thief.jpg

Title: The Book Thief

Author: Markus Zusack

Genre:Historical Fiction/Young Adult

No spoilers.

As all avid book readers know, any good book is sure to change hands many times. My close friends and family don’t even have to ask if they can borrow a book from me, as often I lend it out to them. I believe the amount of times the pages of a book pass over someone’s hand greatly increases the worth of the book. One story, shared by many different people. My own copy of The Book Thief by Markus Zusak escaped me for about two years as I was preoccupied with study and with reading other books. Each person the book was borrowed out to highly recommended it. Luckily for me I did not have much of an idea of what the book was truly about until I read it. Narrated by death the book grips you from the very first scenes. I believe it is truly a book for book lovers and I found it enchanting to be able to relate to a character who also had a love for words and for books. There were so many beautiful moments within this book and many sad ones.

Simply put Zusak has crafted himself a masterpiece. I greatly enjoyed the narration and the way the book was formatted into parts. Each character stands out from the page not because of their descriptions, but because of the way Zusack somehow captures the essence of each character and puts it on the page. This truly is a book that for many readers has the potential to be life-changing which I think is the highest merit anyone can give a book. My only regret is that I did not read this book sooner. However, I’m glad that my one copy has been seen by so many people.

Rating: 5/5

What books have you read that have changed your life?

3 thoughts on “Review: The Book Thief

Leave a Reply

